Destiny 2 – How to Change Difficulty

Are you looking to adjust the difficulty of Destiny 2 to enhance your gaming experience? Whether you’re new to the game or a seasoned veteran, understanding how to change the difficulty in Destiny 2 is essential. In this guide, we’ll walk you through the different settings that govern the difficulty in Destiny 2.

Before we dive into the details, let’s take a quick look at the available difficulty options in Destiny 2.

Difficulty Settings in Destiny 2

Destiny 2 does not feature a universal difficulty setting. Instead, the difficulty of each activity is determined by the player’s Power Level. If your Power Level does not meet the recommended minimum for an activity, it can be extremely challenging to complete. Most activities have a specific recommended Power Level that you should aim to achieve before tackling them.

When you’re selecting an activity, you’ll typically see the recommended Power Level displayed next to it. It’s essential to pay attention to this, as it indicates whether you’re ready for the challenge or not.

Identifying Enemy Difficulty

In Destiny 2, enemies that are significantly higher in Power Level than you will be marked with specific icons. If an enemy is 15 Power Levels higher, you’ll see a red sword icon, signifying that the enemy is challenging but not impossible to defeat. If the enemy is 20-50 Levels higher, a red skull icon will be shown, indicating that they are nearly invincible and should be approached with caution.

Now, let’s take a closer look at some of the key activities in Destiny 2 and the different difficulty options available for each.

Campaign Missions

Campaign missions provide two difficulty options: Classic and Legendary. The Classic difficulty is tailored to players who have not yet reached the Power Cap and offers a balanced challenge. On the other hand, Legendary difficulty adds modifiers to make the game more engaging while capping your effective Power Level 15 Levels below the recommended minimum.

As you progress through the game, the recommended Power Levels for campaign missions increase, with the Lightfall Campaign starting at 1610 and ending at 1750, offering new armor and weapons to help you keep pace with the rising difficulty.

Changing Difficulty

It’s important to note that you cannot change the difficulty setting in the middle of a campaign mission. If you wish to adjust the difficulty, you’ll need to abandon the activity and select the desired difficulty before launching it again.

Rewards for Higher Difficulties

Playing on higher difficulty settings often comes with greater rewards, including better loot, Exotics, end-game materials, and crafting items that are not available in lower-difficulty activities. For example, beating the Lightfall campaign on Legendary difficulty will reward you with a complete set of 1750 armor and the Strand subclass.

Legendary and Master Difficulty

For Legend Lost Sectors, two difficulty options are available: Legendary and Master. The Legendary difficulty unlocks at Power Level 1750, while Master Difficulty is recommended for players at or above Power Level 1810.

Nightfall Strikes

Nightfall Strikes offer four difficulty options: Hero, Legend, Master, and Grandmaster. Each difficulty level comes with its own set of challenges and rewards, with Grandmaster Nightfalls being among the toughest end-game activities in Destiny 2.


Understanding the various difficulty settings in Destiny 2 is crucial for tailoring your gaming experience to your skill level and goals. By selecting the right difficulty, you can ensure that you’re sufficiently challenged while reaping rewards that match your capabilities. Which difficulty setting do you prefer in Destiny 2? Share your thoughts and experiences in the comments below!