What is a Wormhole in Pokemon GO? Answered

What are Wormholes in Pokémon GO?

If you’ve recently returned to playing Pokémon GO because of the Gen 9 Pokémon update, you may have noticed some changes. While the basic gameplay remains the same, there are new additions and quests that can be overwhelming if you’ve been away for a while. But don’t worry, we’re here to answer your question: What are Wormholes in Pokémon GO?

If you’re also curious about the shiny Gold Pokéstops, we have a guide for that too.

Answering the question: What are Wormholes in Pokémon GO?

During your travels in Pokémon GO, you may come across Wormholes, which function similarly to Raids. Pokémon Raids can be identified by a Pokestop with a large Egg on top and a countdown. Wormholes appear in the same locations, but with a key difference – they count down to the appearance of an Ultra Beast.

If you’re thinking, “What are Ultra Beasts?”, let us explain. Ultra Beasts were introduced in Gen VII of the Pokémon series. Although they are not referred to as Ultra Pokémon, they are creatures from another dimension, hence the name Wormholes. Despite their origin, you can capture Ultra Beasts just like any other Raid Pokémon. After defeating an Ultra Beast in battle, you will have a few chances to catch it. Raid Pokémon are typically challenging to capture, so it’s recommended to use Golden Razz Berries to increase your chances of success.

If you haven’t participated in a Raid before, it’s important to note that these battles are designed to be tackled with a team. Typically, trainers gather as soon as the Raid begins. You can check if anyone is waiting for the fight without spending a Raid Pass by tapping on the Pokémon. If no one is present, it’s better to save your pass for another time, as solo attempts are often unsuccessful.

Number of Ultra Beasts in Pokémon GO

Currently, there are seven Ultra Beasts available in Pokémon GO, all of which can be obtained from Wormholes. These include:

  • Buzzwole
  • Celesteela
  • Guzzlord
  • Kartana
  • Nihilego
  • Pheromosa
  • Xurkitree

In the past, most of these Ultra Beasts were restricted and tied to limited events. However, now they are more accessible, although you still need to defeat a 5-star Raid to obtain them.

If you’re embarking on the Paldean Adventure quest and are unsure of which path to choose, our guide can assist you.