AFK Journey character tier list

How This AFK Journey Tier List Is Made

This guide is based on each significant content in the game. We currently have Story Mode, Dream Realm, and PvP, and each emphasizes specific kits and synergies that differ from each other. If you want a more accurate and efficient team composition, check the list for the content you want to run. Here are the AFK Journey Tier Rankings for each mode:


Units that can perform great throughout any content are limited, so if you have them, you should consider yourself lucky. These characters can be used in most, if not all, game modes and will require a few alterations to their build.

S Tier

  • Dionel
  • Scarlita
  • Granny Dahnie
  • Temesia
  • Rowan
  • Odie
  • Koko
  • Reinier
  • Thoran

A Tier

  • Hewynn
  • Shakir
  • Vala
  • Cecia
  • Carolina
  • Bryon
  • Eironn
  • Smokey and Meerky
  • Cassadee
  • Rhys
  • Parisa
  • Lyca
  • Seth
  • Korin
  • Viperian
  • Marilee

B Tier

  • Berial
  • Igor
  • Lumont
  • Brutus
  • Antandra
  • Silvina
  • Niru
  • Kruger
  • Mirael
  • Walker

C Tier

  • Atalanta
  • Damian
  • Satrana
  • Lucius
  • Valen
  • Arden
  • Fay
  • Salazer
  • Kafra

Tier Rating Explanations

For this tier list, we only divide the units into four rankings: S, A, B, and C. S-tier units are considered the meta for their specific comps. You want to use them more frequently in your chosen content, and they should perform well throughout your runs. They will require little investments to work optimally and outshine most units if they have optimized sets.

A Tier characters are good overall and require minimal investments to be efficient in content. However, they will need good team synergies and sets to compete evenly with those in the S-Tier. When built right, they can work better than those in higher rankings.

B Tier characters require more investments and planning to work correctly. You can consider them during niche situations, and they are very situational. You generally only want to use them early in the game, but should replace them when you get better units.

C Tiers are those that you only use in the beginning. They don’t have any value in higher-difficulty content. They will hardly perform well even if you spend so much resources on them. Once you get any unit B Tier above, you should replace the ones in the C ranking.

How Many Hero Levels Are There

Hero Journey only features two types of hero levels: S-level and A-level. S Levels are rarer, while A tiers are more familiar units. You can only pull them through tickets and summoning tokens. Hero levels have little impact on unit efficiency when characters are built properly.