FFXIV – How to Unlock Reaper

How to Unlock Reaper in Final Fantasy XIV

If you’re interested in playing as Reaper in Final Fantasy XIV but don’t know how to unlock it, you’ve come to the right place. In this guide, we will provide you with all the necessary information.


To unlock Reaper in FFXIV, you need to have the Endwalker expansion. If you don’t already own it, you can purchase it directly from the Square Enix store.

Level 70 or Higher

In order to start the questline for Reaper, you must have a Disciple of War or Magic job that is at least level 70. If you don’t meet this requirement, you have two options. You can either purchase a level boost from the MogStation or unlock a different class that is almost level 70, such as Gunbreaker or Dancer. Keep in mind that unlocking Gunbreaker or Dancer requires a level 60 character, but it does provide you with a free set of level 60 gear.

Reaper Questline

The questline to become a Reaper in Final Fantasy XIV is similar to other class questlines. It begins in the first city of the game, Ul’Dah.

The First Quest

  • Location – Steps of Nald (X:12.8, Y:8.6)
  • NPC – Flustered Attendant

In order to become a Reaper, you only need to complete the first quest in the Reaper questline. This quest will unlock the Reaper weapon, attire, and the Soul of the Reaper. To become a Reaper, simply equip the Soul of the Reaper and follow the quest instructions.

Tip: Immediate Upgrade Gear

Reaper shares gear with the Dragoon class, so if you already have Dragoon gear, you’re in luck. If not, it’s recommended to use your Allagan Tomestones of Poetics to purchase the Augmented Scaevan Armor, which is level 70 and much better than the default Reaper gear. You can find this gear at Rhalgr’s Reach (Enna) or Kugane (Rowena’s Representative).

How Reaper Works

Reaper has some unique mechanics compared to other jobs in FFXIV. It wields a scythe, which gives it excellent AoE abilities.

Since the Reaper job starts at level 70, it may seem overwhelming at first due to the number of abilities you need to learn. However, the gauges and mechanics become easier to understand as you progress. Take your time and learn as you go.

Reaper Gauges

There are three gauges for the Reaper job that generate as you use skills and abilities. These gauges can be spent on separate skills and abilities.

Soul Gauge

The Soul gauge is the red gauge that unlocks immediately and generates with weapon skills. It allows you to put enemies under certain effects before they die. Once you fill the gauge, you can use primary mechanics and abilities such as Blood Stalk and Grim Swathe.

Shroud Gauge

The Shroud Gauge is the blue gauge that unlocks at level 80. It is charged by using abilities such as Gibbet, Gallows, and Guillotine. Once charged, you can enter Enshroud mode, which transforms you into an avatar. During this mode, you gain new stacks of Lemure Shroud, which unlock new abilities. Eventually, you will unlock an upgraded version of Enshroud and Lemure.

That’s all you need to know about unlocking and playing as Reaper in FFXIV. If you have any difficulties unlocking the job, feel free to let us know in the comments!