How to Watch Attack on Titan in Order (AoT in Order)

Attack on Titan, also known as Shingeki no Kyojin, has become a massive cultural phenomenon, especially in the West where anime consumption has seen a significant increase. For new fans, it may be confusing to figure out the best order to watch the various seasons and Original Video Animations (OVAs) that provide additional context between seasons. In this article, we will provide a guide on how to watch Attack on Titan in order to get the full experience.

The Best Attack on Titan Watch Order

Here is the recommended watch order for Attack on Titan to ensure that you don’t miss out on any important story beats and background information:

  • Attack on Titan Season One
  • Attack on Titan: Ilse’s Notebook (OVA that focused on Hange, Levi, and Ervin)
  • Attack on Titan: The Sudden Visitor: The Torturous Curse of Youth (OVA that focuses on Jean, Sasha)
  • Attack on Titan: Distress (OVA that focuses on Jean and Eren)
  • Attack on Titan: No Regrets – Episodes One and Two (OVA that focuses on Levi)
  • Attack on Titan Season Two
  • Attac on Titan: Wall Sina, Goodbye – One and Two (This focuses on Annie Leonhart)
  • Attack on Titan Season Three – Episodes One through Twelve
  • Attack on Titan: Lost in the Cruel World
  • Attack on Titan Season Three – Episodes 13 to the season finale
  • Attack on Titan Season Four Part One
  • Attack on Titan Season Four Part Two
  • Attack on Titan: Final Season – The Final Chapters – Two feature-length episodes.

Do You Need to Watch the Attack on Titan OVAs?

While not essential, watching the Attack on Titan OVAs can provide additional depth to the story and characters. It’s worth considering if you want a more comprehensive understanding of the series.

When Did Attack on Titan First Release?

Attack on Titan originated as a manga in 2009, and the anime adaptation began in 2013. Since then, the series has expanded into various spin-offs, including manga, video games, and novels. The global success of the series is evident, with crossover events with games such as Dead by Daylight.

What Is Attack on Titan About?

Attack on Titan revolves around the last remaining human civilization that is under constant threat from gigantic, murderous creatures known as Titans. The story follows the utilization of Vertical Maneuvering Equipment by humans to fend off the Titans and the journey of Eren Yeager and his companions as they seek to survive and potentially eliminate the Titan threat.

Are There Any Other Attack on Titan Shows?

If you’re hungry for more Attack on Titan content, there are additional non-canonical shows to explore, including Attack on Titan: Junior High, which provides a comedic twist on the main series. Additionally, a live action film adaptation was released in 2015, offering a different perspective on the source material.

So there you have it, the best order to watch Attack on Titan. Whether you’re planning a rewatch or diving into the series for the first time, following this guide will ensure you have an immersive experience.

About the author

Aidan O’Brien

Aidan has been playing games for over three decades and has been writing about them for about five years. When not getting stomped on by the creations of Hidetaka Miyazaki he enjoys spending too much time in Warframe, Destiny 2, and any ARPG with a solid grind. When not writing, he is doing inexplicable behind-the-scenes magic.